Close The Door

I looked at the words as they came
Praying only for something not there
The result left me weak as I read
Yet how could I expect something unfair.

I knew how it would all come to pass
Having felt if for so long it was real
Even yet as I read I had to take a pause
For I knew it would be even harder to feel.

There is was in plain black and white
Those dreaded of words that leave one dry
“It is what it is” seems to echo again
Yet there seems to be no reason left to cry.

With all being said and nothing left of love
When there is no expectation that there is more
Time to admit it is not something they still wanted
And just quietly turn, one last look, close the door.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Close The Door

  1. You say that you are not a poet but indeed this is poetic. I have shared on Twitter so that other readers can enjoy your work as well.

  2. graypoet says:

    I haven’t used twitter much but if you will friend me, is that the right term, I’d enjoy following you. My twitter is Gramps55

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    Very beautiful and I know how hard this is to read and share. But you did it once again. Thank you always for sharing your deepest thoughts from the heart

Leave a Reply

