Abuse

This won’t be a usual post, more of a rant I guess. So many thoughts going through my mind and nowhere to let them out, so I’ll just write. How do you excuse any man who would touch a woman without respect? I have a granddaughter that I helped raise. She left her boyfriend because he started to be abusive and she knew better, I was proud of her. She was with me for some time and then when she turned 18 wanted to go live with her mom. I couldn’t do any more than advise her of the dangers, but she went… and I knew she moved back in with her old boyfriend soon after. Months pass and she is expecting, how do you try to be happy and encouraging. Soon she is back…. why, because he is being abusive and she is worried for her baby. I take her in again, proud that she can be strong. The baby arrives and is such a jewel. When the baby is turning 1, she has the longing again and has been texting and talking so off she goes to be with him again. A week ago she moved out, I’m not sure what the reason, and moved in with her mother. For some reason they met last night and baby’s daddy (I can’t bear to call him boyfriend) beat her up. I learned of it after and talked with her last night. If all follows through, she should make a police report and get a restraining order today. I hope she stays firm.

I have another lady that I know that has a husband that likes to lay his hands on her. It just tears at me to know that goes on, and I’m not blind to the fact that it happens a lot. I feel these ‘men’ and I use the term lightly, should be put in a room with some hardened criminals that feel as I do. Let them get a few sessions of what it feels like from some that have nothing to lose.

Anyway, I am just sorry for these two, and sorry that I don’t live close to either of them. For I fear that being old and set in my ways, if I were to find either of these two pieces of sh*t, one of us would be going to jail and the other to the hospital… Being old, you learn you don’t have to fight fair.

I’ll get off my high horse and crawl back in my dark corner for a while. I have other ghosts to fight.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Abuse

  1. jhasmoments says:

    I hope you do not mind … I tweeted this
    I know this is easier said… just stay strong and supportive. She is going to need some one who is not judgmental and who is supportive like you. Do not let it stress you out with worry. My heart goes out to you and her. She needs to stay strong and trust me.. she needs to get a restraining order as soon as possible so it is documented that he is abusive.

  2. graypoet says:

    No, I don’t mind you sharing… I ramble enough to share… Yes, unfortuately I keep reminding her that seldom do they change once they start down that physical road. It does worry me.

  3. Been there and, it is destructive! There are no justified excuses~ So sorry these is so prevalent ~Deborah

  4. nikky44 says:

    THANK YOU ❤
    Thank you for this message of love and understanding. Being one of these women, your message here mean a lot to me. I don't know if you read my posts about the abuse, but maybe its a good idea for your granddaughter to read them too ❤

  5. Good man you are. Doesn’t seem like there’s much anyone can do. Sharing the strength, support and care you have for them is about the best for now. Hope things will get better for your girl, and your friend.

Leave a Reply

