Into The Night

Glass in hand and eyes to the stars
I step through the quiet of the night
There isn’t a particular destination
Just walk and see what ever I might.

I just have to get away from the keys
So many thoughts coming in a flood
My brain is on overload with emotions
My heart is racing streams of blood.

Why must we try to make sense of it all
What makes us listen to words we read
Can we trust things that we can’t believe
Is there something that forces our need.

For now it is time for me to stay outside
Just stay to myself and let things rest
It isn’t that I don’t want to get it right
But it seems my silence will be best.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Into The Night

  1. Lovely lovely. And I was just thinking of this “What makes us listen to words we read” as I read the interview of Dr Richard Taylor and his Alzheimer’s situation. Then memories of the past came attacking me just as you’ve said So many thoughts coming in a flood / My brain is on overload with emotions / My heart is racing streams of blood.”

    You are a wonderful writer. Thank you so much for all that you’ve created and shared with us.

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    Yes indeed thank you for all the wonderful poems and writings; they truly make us think; there are times I feel as though you are writing about me. That is ok but know it isn’t I you write about. Your silence makes me sad because I know where your thoughts lie. You belong with all of us and we love your way with words. Be yourself and one day she will come along and sweep you off your feet…….

Leave a Reply

