Midas Touch

Midas had that special gift
To turn whatever he touched to gold
Well I feel like a similar thing
Is what I have with what I try to hold.

But mind is not a touch of gold
For that would be a trap
I have been given the gift
Of what I touch becoming crap.

Seems that when I reach and try to keep
I get so tied up and it goes awry
That from now on I’ll keep to myself
And forget things and not even try.

Not that Midas got to enjoy his gold
For the touch ruined whatever he held
Others got to enjoy what he wanted
So my thoughts will be withheld.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Midas Touch

  1. solingenpoet says:

    This poem is a reminder that in life we must hold onto things lightly!

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    I agree with Solingenpoet. Hold lightly and give room to grow, trust and love will come

  3. nikky44 says:

    i guess the ideal solution is to enjoy what we have, whatever that is.

  4. MarinaSofia says:

    Wow, that really subverted my expectations! ‘I have been given the gift
    Of what I touch becoming crap.’ You are a very honest, heartfelt poet and I am enjoying your work very much.

Leave a Reply

