Loss Of A Friendship

I came to the keyboard to let my thoughts come out and found the post below from a wonderful artist. I hope she doesn’t mind me sharing her post, as I feel it offsets what I was feeling…

http://362101nlt.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/the-beginnings-of-friendship/

 

Just when you think that things are looking up
Life has a way of slapping you in the face
Maybe it is better not to think too much of yourself
Because it is then something puts you in your place.

I had a friend, someone I cared about for some time
There were conversations that we shared so much
Talk of family and things going on in our life
If things had been different, I would have sought her touch.

Maybe I thought too much of the things we had shared
I knew she had a lot going on in her family and life
She was such a caring mother, giving all to her kids
Even in the tough times, she tried to be a good wife.

Just when things seemed to be looking up for both of us
Something happened that has caused me to take a step back
I wish her all the success in her life with family and friends
We will remember the good times, not my heart and it’s crack.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Loss Of A Friendship

  1. Jeannie says:

    this is full of the “way it is”–when a certain set of circumstances present themselves “as thus” it is best to keep the good thoughts and move on. Sometimes people enter our life for only a season; what we need and want in long term relationships present themselves in a natural flow, without twisting ourselves inside out.

  2. jhasmoments says:

    It’s sometimes hard to put your emotions in writing, or to tell someone.. I think you did it perfectly … great write 🙂
    all the best to you 🙂

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    WOW Very touching and heartfelt; don’t know what to say; it’s never too late thought to look back and possible to share a wonderful test for true feelings

  4. Nem says:

    Writing from the heart is hard and sometimes very painful, this is heartfelt and as with all your writing honest….
    So glad to have found you on here….
    Hugs your way.x.

  5. kcwritermom says:

    Beautifully written. And I love the post it came from. I wrote about this awhile back, losing my best friend of 30+ years. It’s very hard. She and I reconnected on Facebook and although it’s not the same as it was, it’s a start. Thanks for sharing your heart – as I told another writer, it’s catharsis for the soul. Take care.

  6. Pingback: The Guest – Charles Townsend « ClownRhymes

  7. I think most people can relate to the loss of a friendship in one form or another. I know it’s happened to me and it really hurts. The last line really drives it home – especially “not my heart and it’s crack.” Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

