Numbering The Future

One night I couldn’t sleep at first
Two cups of tea and I was still going
Three time I tried to ease my mind
Four hours I sat and looked at nothing.

One thought works on me over and over – love me
Two people seem to have a need – each other
Three words are so important – I love you
Four are said if things are right – Will you marry me?

One family can be the beginning of a lifetime
Two families coming together to become that one
Three in a relationship can only lead to problems
Four hearts with two children to make it complete.

One day I hope to feel that precious feeling again
Two hearts beating as one so that nothing else matters
Three words always keeping them close as they are said
Four fingers linked in another’s to remain strong forever.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Numbering The Future

  1. aionion says:

    Very clever,,and nicely written

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    BEAUTIFUL AND I DO HOPE AND PRAY YOU FIND THIS AGAIN; LOOK CLOSE MY FRIEND AND YOU WILL FIND THAT KIND OF LOVE AGAIN

Leave a Reply

