Typical Morning – Villanelle

Tears on the pillow
Another day begins
You were in my thoughts.

What makes us remember
How do we make sense of things
Tears on the pillow.

Too many times we can’t stop
Too much of a connection
You were in my thoughts.

The mind will always be active
Those thoughts are just memories
Tears on the pillow.

Even with the passing of time
So many things can trigger it
You were in my thoughts.

I will try to get on with my day
Not remember what might have been
Tears on the pillow
You were in my thoughts.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Typical Morning – Villanelle

  1. cestlavie22 says:

    I love how you repeat you were in my thoughts! This line is so powerful for this poem and it forces the reader to keep that line in their thoughts. Very well done and definitely something I relate to.

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    Beautiful and heartfelt and we all have these moments if this is any consolation

Leave a Reply

