Magic In The Backyard

Looking out the frosted pane to the yard
I can’t help but remember the days we shared
Lovely years spent learning each others moods
Ups and downs, but you knew that I always cared.

Even with the cold bite of Winter’s chill
How can I forget the warmth of your smile
Pushing our children on that old tire swing
Running around in games of tag mile after mile.

Feeling like a king of my domain as I grill
Knowing that more family would soon arrive
We planned our meal to make them feel at home
Always to be a better man you helped me strive.

How could I know that like the fresh fallen snow
That you too would be gone in the twinkling of an eye
I have the memories of the life we shared those years
How I wish that I might have been able to say Goodbye

Just as a word of explanation, this post was in response to a contest based on the book of the same name by this wonderful author:
http://kellieelmore.com/2012/04/06/free-write-friday-fwf-write-to-win-book-tote/

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Magic In The Backyard

  1. A sad but wonderfully touching poem. I love those times in the backyard with family.
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2012/04/06/do-you-believe-in-magic/

  2. aionion says:

    That is beautiful Charles!

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTWRENCHING; I FEEL THAT PAIN NOT FROM A SPOUSE BUT MAMA AND DADDY. TEARS ARE STREAMING DOWN MY CHEEKS. THAANK YOU FOR ALWAYS SHARING AND CARING MY VERY DEAR FRIEND

  4. you managed to put a lump in my throat. Well done! Emotional and sweetly nostalgic, lovely tribute. Thank you so much for writing for me! xox

Leave a Reply

