Footsteps

As I look back at the pathway I have created
I see the footprints that trace my past
Solitary in the distance they lead away
What a lonely shadow in the sand they cast.

There have been other footsteps to cross
And at times there were pairs that merged
For so many miles there was a set that remained
Once in a while a pair to keep I was urged.

No regrets are there for the lonely path I’ve created
You can’t make another follow the steps where you lead
At some point I trust there will be two sets of prints
But they will walk along out of desire not out of need.

As I look back and trace out that path that I’ve made
I think for now I will enjoy the warmth of the sand
Looking forward with hope and a desire to share life
Open hand, open heart and a space beside me to stand.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Footsteps

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Very beautiful from the heart

  2. aionion says:

    beautiful

Leave a Reply

