When You Dream

When you dream, what do you find so alluring
When you wake what do you fight to remember
Have you thought of what the mind is saying
Can you see the face and the color of her hair?

Just a few of the thoughts that cause me to pause
As I start the day and go over the dream I had
I smile with the memory of all that we shared
Knowing that we’re apart, it keeps me from being sad.

There are days when dreams are all that we have
So it keeps my heart alive to remember those times
I think dreams are like my writing of these poems
The images in my mind have to come out, like these rhymes.

So I dream as I can while I catch what sleep will come
I hold you close and remember each word that we exchanged
Yes there are intimate thoughts as I remember those times
And like words filed away, I keep these images thus arranged.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to When You Dream

  1. kcwritermom says:

    Beautiful. So many mornings I can’t wait to get up and write down what my dreams were and alas, I cannot remember. They used to be so vivid, so easy to recall … oh for the longing of my youth. LOL! So now I’m just happy to know I can still dream.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Being alone and being lonely…sometimes the same, sometimes not…today, they feel as if they’re the same…weekends can be the toughest when thinking of that special someone and wishing they were close by…hugs…i miss you

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTFELT AND SAYS WHAT MOST OF US FEEL ABOUT DREAMS. THEY CAN BE SO REALISTIC

Leave a Reply

