How Can You Know

How can you know the feelings I carry
When it is just words that you hear
How do you understand that which I
Can’t seem to impart to your ear.

To have the curse that is always with me
Is something that I can’t begin to explain
How it leads me, moves me or causes doubt
Just a part of the feelings it let remain.

Without words that I can utter it shows me
The wonders of someone else while apart
This connection like high voltage wires
Can bring you oh so close to my heart.

Like trying to describe a sunset to one blind
Can coincidence repeated really be just that
Do I trust what the connection leads me to feel
I guess filled with questions is where I am at.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Can You Know

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    Beautiful and very much felt in my heart; you just have to let go and ask or show ; we never know what we miss if we aren’t willing to go forward; and that is not an easy task; it’s easier to remain the same and wonder.

  2. Mira Jay says:

    “describing sunset to a blind”…
    you may finish your dictionaries yet he’ll feel no charm unless he watches one himself….

  3. Tom Baker says:

    Another awesome work Mr. Gray. Doubting is such sweet sorrow.

  4. I am well acquainted with those frustrating times where I feel muted and unable to impart my deepest emotion….that is why I love writing….with each accomplishment, I am better seasoned for the next momentous step in declaring my soul through my speech….I can see where i have grown, and I am sure you can see where you have too….
    As for matters of of the heart in the affairs of people, I find that actions will undoubtedly tell more than a word can show, along with the expressions on our faces…..we take a persons countenance at face value too often, not knowing what that person may really be thinking…..that is why it is important to be aware of how we hold the lines on our face….you never know what another may be processing through their mind about our manners…..That is why the smile is so important, giving life to our countenance and our souls, and spreading good will wherever we carry it to…..
    Not sure what this all means to you, but I am an instinctual person, and try to go where I am lead…hope you found some knowledge and/or encouragement……Loved the poem…
    Celeste

Leave a Reply

