Why Fridays?

This will sound like such an unusual rant
But why must Fridays come around each week
For many they are days they look forward to
For others, it is something they no longer seek.

I remember when I had a house full of activity
Maybe then it was a day that I waited for its return
Even if the house held someone special these days
Possibly then I wouldn’t return home so forlorn.

But when the children are off to their own families
Yes there are days they are awaiting my arrival
Yet with the passing of one you felt was your spark
An empty house is a matter of simply survival.

So as each Friday rolls around now I have to pause
Not think of the smiles, whispers, joy, even lust
The past has shown me I can make it through the weekend
But without someone special, I just do what I must.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Fridays?

  1. Jeannie says:

    a weekend can be very long indeed…it makes us crave the workday, where we are too busy to think about an empty house until the end of the day. Nicely said.

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    You sound so lost and forlorn; Fridays are good days my friend

Leave a Reply

