The Struggle Within

Cancer can affect each of us in different ways
How we handle those challenges help define us
When we try to deal with it alone it hurts
To have someone to lean on and trust is a plus.

Maybe it is the effect of the disease on a close friend
Feeling helpless and not knowing how to reach out
It might leave us with the anger of seeing them hurt
Maybe our only option is to hide what we feel and pout.

Too many times it is the illness hitting someone we love
Each day we try to put aside the fears that we feel
Show the smile and the strength they need to help support
So many try to just deny it exists, but it is very real.

So now I fight for two of my own, trying to be strong
It takes the toll and at times I get overwhelmed myself
If by chance I lose my emotional control and offend you
I hope that you realize I just had to put my heart on the shelf.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Struggle Within

  1. Jeannie says:

    you do what you have to xox

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    I feel this hurt and you never could offend; again I’m here if you need me. HUGS

Leave a Reply

