Wonders Around Us

When was the last time you stopped to smell the roses
To listen to the birds or to examine the beauty in a flower
When was the last time you took a moment to just imagine
What it took to give us life, the wisdom, the love, the power.

Did it all come about as a big bang of primordial gas
With the order in the universe I can’t discount a God
For those that want to discount all that with evolution
I feel sorry for them and the path they will have trod.

As with most I don’t try to talk politics or religion very much
No easier way to get on the wrong side of family or friends
But when I find some that want to lead us down a path of denial
I feel pity for them denying the existence of One on which life depends.

If all these wonders, whether plant or animal, even the Earth and stars
Came about by chance and without there being a greater intellect in design
Then the inbuilt instincts of animals or our own desire to worship something greater
Would mean nothing and from this short life that we have, we might as well resign.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wonders Around Us

  1. Tom Baker says:

    Mr Graypoet, I would love to share this in a series I have called Poetic License. I would like it for April because the March post came out today. If the name of my blog offends you I understand but the poem is very powerful and I would love to share it. If you check out Poetic License you will see I give full credit. Additionally I post all the poems from previous four months together in one magazine style post. Thanks for considering.

    • graypoet says:

      I appreciate that you found my work worthy of consideration and have no problem if you would like to share it given the recognition. I only started sharing my words recently compared to some and enjoy the feedback and the encouragement.

      • Tom Baker says:

        I truly appreciate you allowing me to share your words. This is the second time I’ve visited your blog. I try to look through the WordPress poetry tag page at least once a week. Thank you also for following my blog.

  2. aionion says:

    Very nicely done,, ”without faith, there is nothing”

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    wonderful and very beautiful I really love this one

  4. Phyllis Sears says:

    This one is a beauty and quite thought provoking. Thank you

Leave a Reply

