A Senior Moment

As I order my senior coffee, I reflect
What have I missed, what did I neglect
Have I forgotten anything yet today
Now I’m confused, what can I say.

They say so much is wasted on the youth
All that energy without a care is the truth
Once we’re smart enough to know what is right
We lost all the strength and give up the fight.

So now I have my senior moments to think upon
Up each morning before the crack of dawn
When I was younger I could get along without sleep
Now I think of eating rather than counting the sheep.

It’s not that I forget or that things cloud my mind
The mind is active with all things ahead and behind
At times I wish I could give the thoughts a break
Instead, I sit down and another poem comes awake.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Senior Moment

  1. Jeannie says:

    I like this and see my own self in your words. These days I require more sleep; so I go to bed earlier and still get up before daylight. My mind’s a whirl all day–all the coffee I drink doesn’t help. Half-timers is here to stay. And always, a poem is trying to break out. Not so bad for an old lady though, I’m thinking πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

