Time Flies

Remember back to when we were younger
How we looked at those people we knew
Grandfathers and Grandmothers growing older
Never realizing their time might be through.

Hitting our twenties and thirties and few cares
Starting a family and finally we begin to comprehend
The so much of the advice we were given by parents
Words that are now something on which we depend.

As I look back with the badge of Great-Grandfather
I have come to know that so much of what we learn
Has turned full circle with the words coming true
That you keep learning so much more as time does turn.

Now I am not too proud to admit that I made my own mistakes
That when I knew it all and reminded my parents of the fact
They would sit and smile and tell me what I now know
You hope that one day those youngsters learn how to act.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Time Flies

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    sooooooooooooooooooooooooo true; great words of wisdom my friend

  2. willofheart says:

    I love this piece Gray poet, I love the flow of words, it is very well written …

Leave a Reply

