Valentine’s Day After

The rose is losing petals as they drop on the floor
I’ve hung Cupid by his wings over the hook behind the door
The chocolates are all unwrapped and eaten by now
So what do I have to show for not having made a vow.

I spent the night quietly with nothing much to show
It isn’t that I haven’t wished some intimacy to know
But alas I’ve let it pass me by once again this year
It is just my own fault that by myself I sit here.

So as we move on to the day after Valentine
Once again I say to myself what is mine is mine
It isn’t that I don’t want to share my life again
There just seems to be something else of a plan.

So no more Cupid or roses or even a single sweet
I’ll wait until life smiles again and someone special meet
I know that we can all wonder if we’re guided by fate
If that is the case, I hope it lets me once again have a mate.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine’s Day After

  1. Joanna says:

    Another Valentine’s Day has come and gone.

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    You read my mind sometimes; BEAUTIFUL BEYOND MEASURE and so true to life

Leave a Reply

