Valentine Miss

I start another day with thoughts of you
Leaving home I trip as something hits my shoe
Looking down I catch my breath with a start
It’s a pink quill, feathers shaped like a heart.

Walking to the car I hear the dog yelp and scat
Only to stop chasing and lay down with the cat
My thoughts return to you as my heart begins to race
Drawn away as I feel something fly by my face.

So many are happy but for me it seems to wait
I know that I’m older, but is it really too late
Change of my thought as I hear a sound like a bell
A new dent in my car and another quill where it fell.

Then I see, white red-tipped cane, frames of thick glass
My fat little cupid hardly able to fly by the size of his behind
My defective cupid, no wonder love eludes me, what can I say
I hope everyone else has a great Valentine’s Day.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valentine Miss

  1. cindylou says:

    Happy Valentines Poppy….hugs

  2. Anyta says:

    LOL .. poor cupid

  3. Phyllis Sears says:

    At least I see your smile and feel it too with this one and of course guess who I thought with the feathers and zooms????? Hugs

  4. aionion says:

    THAT, was amazing,,I felt the humor and the sadness. Sooo you, loved it.

  5. graypoet says:

    Reblogged this on Gray Poet and commented:

    Time to reblog one of my old posts….

  6. Mira Jay says:

    Never too late……
    Happy Valentine’s

Leave a Reply

