Think Outside The Box

Too many times we get caught up in the same routine
That level of insanity that we tell others to avoid
Doing the same thing day after day without really thinking
Yet when someone mentions it, we tend to become annoyed.

For years I was too self consumed to think outside the box
Not as you might think in the general sense of the expression
For the box I was caught up in had been buried six feet under
And my world was a mixture of memories, loss and depression.

There are many reasons to remember all the details of the past
They make us who we are and give us so many reasons to reflect
But there comes a time when we are forced to realize we must move on
For there are those that care for us and they should feel no neglect.

So I’ve been working to move my thoughts and my dreams
Back to the land of the living and to let myself feel much more
Friends and family are such precious things to have stand by me
You never know until you try what you will find behind that next door.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Think Outside The Box

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    This is so true Charles; great poem once again. I LOVE IT. Kee them coming my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

