The Smile

There are so many ways to smile
I should know I think I have tried them all
Sometimes you just let loose with a belly laugh
At times you have to just keep it small.

There is that lost little grin
When you realize you can’t express
All the feelings you might have
Because it will cause someone stress.

There is the laugh you let fly
When a child puts on a show
They think something is the end of the world
But you realize something they don’t know.

And worst of all is the smile you put on
To hide the fact someone just broke your heart
You will put on the face to let everyone see
Only later will it fade and the tears will start.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Smile

  1. Phyllis Sears says:

    I love it and you already know how I feel about smiles

Leave a comment