Solitude

So many thoughts running through my mind
The highways in my brain are gridlocked
The wreckage of so many wandering dreams
Sheer carnage of hopes twisted and abandoned.

Oh to leave the clogged pathways behind
Lay on a blanket in the sun and not care
Taking time to heal the scars and wounds
Knowing that for a moment they are forgotten.

But alas winter is upon us like a net
No sun or warmth to be found in my day
Going through the motions as if I were alive
Let it be over so I can repeat it tomorrow.

So I lock the thoughts for another time
Deep in the recesses of my aching brain
I put on the smile so they think I’m alright
And wait for a spark to ignite that old flame.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

