Coming End

While everyone has had to help another with illness
There sometimes comes a point where you feel inadequate
I’m not referring to a seasonal irritation or bug
But when they are dealing with a life threatening case.

I’ve dealt with the loss of both parents and my spouse
Nothing prepares you for the loss even when you know
There is never a time when you are completely ready
Even when all accept that it is the time for it to end.

Recent losses of a close family member bring back thoughts
Ones that were buried to ease the pain in my heart
But you try to carry on and give the best you can
Knowing that if you can aid them at all it is a blessing.

Now I approach what seems to be the end of another ones journey
Not at all prepared as we find that the time might be coming
Never knowing exactly how long or how severe the pains will become
Yet doing all that we can to encourage and support each one.

Oh the plagues we have brought upon the conditions around us
All this technology and the improvements in your daily lives
Pollution and the breakdown of the life cycles that support us
When will we ever be able to have the health that science promised.

Yes, I am thoughtful and concerned for the life that is ending
There doesn’t seem to be much that one person can do to change
But I’ll give all I can as I help with family and friends
Remembering the past full of joys and laughter, not the coming pain.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coming End

  1. So touching and heartfelt….I sympathize with your losses but applaud you for your willingness to march on and spread love and encouragement. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
    Celeste

  2. Phyllis Sears says:

    Charles this is so beautiful and so true to life; having lost myself I understand those feelings all to well and wish I could express myself as you do in your art/heart writings. I am very blessed to have such a wonderful and special FRIEND as you. Hugs always Phyllis

Leave a Reply

