The Mind

You know who you are and that makes me smile
With word pictures I paint you in my mind
You aren’t here yet my thoughts are running wild
So I drop them on the page and hope that you smile.

As you lay there you still seem so tall
My mind wanders off to the Rockies as I smile
As I imagine the journey up the slopes
Always leaves me breathless and wanting more.

My mind drifts off with thoughts of a sudden storm
How the warm rain seems to make your skin glisten
As if oiled and hand rubbed, you shine with moisture
Hardly able to resist the desire to pull you close to me.

The mind can give us such vivid thoughts as we stop
Knowing where we’ve been and seeing where it might lead
Hoping, wishing, feeling it grow stronger as we dream
Realizing that we are the only ones that can make this last.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mind

  1. Very sweet and thoughtful……very enjoyable read! Thanks for sharing.
    Blessings
    Celeste

Leave a Reply

