The Ride

Some times I just need to get out and ride
To feel the wind in my face and nothing else
The power of the engine racing between my thighs
Lets me ignore all the cares that are piling up.

I pick a quiet road that winds among the rolling hills
Light filters through the trees building a canopy above
All the colors of the season mixed with the falling leaves
Make it so easy to get lost in the landscape rushing by.

Slowing as the landscape start to converge against the cliff
Easing through the hairpin curves while gravity tries to hold
Powering up the rise and feeling a little wild and free
Not a care do I let intrude on my freedom as I simply ride.

It is relaxing to just go through the motions of the terrain
Solitary and alone as the sun and the wind wash away the strain
The only thing that would have made this more relaxing and alive
Would be to share the ride with someone special in my life.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

