Empty Rooms

I looked around the room as I inventory my life
The photos on the wall of the family we built
How their smiles have warmed so many hearts
We left our legacy behind without any guilt.

Who can say when the love started to blossom
It seems as if it was there from the first look
With each flip of your hair or twinkle in your eye
You tugged on my heart as if I was caught with a hook.

The time that we spent through the length of our days
Let me know that something special had been found
Many strive to find a kinship like we were to share
Some spend years and it still seems they are floundering around.

So many years spent together that it is hard to believe
It was over when your life was taken that fateful day
Now I look at the memories that fill these rooms
And still without someone to share they are so empty.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Empty Rooms

  1. aionion says:

    Your words touch me in places few have entered.

Leave a Reply

