Remembering

I thought I would post this one since it helped start my journey here by winning the Poetry Slam.

 

The light seems to waver
As from the dark I stare
Thoughts still fill my head
Of all the times we had to share.

The flicker seems to captivate my mind
Taking me back to memories we made
Of summer days leisurely strolling in the sun
To a blanket we shared as we lay in the shade.

Moving shadows from the lights dim glow
Makes so many things roll across my thought
Some still seem so real they cause me to smile
Others remind me of all the things I forgot.

So as I lay in the dark and remember our love
I reach out to try to hold as if gripping a handle
Maybe it is for nothing that I try to remember
But for now I still believe and light this candle.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

