Look Back

When we look back at what life has given
Do we have any regrets as to how we’ve grown
Can there be any question that we try
Are there any friends that we’re sorry we’ve known?

There are those that I have known that make me smile
A few that have left their mark and then pulled away
There are some that are missed, yet I have no regrets
A friend makes a choice whether to go or to stay.

Everyone has their own right to follow their heart
There is no question that I have let my own dream
One day we look back and realize that each friend
Touched us more deeply than at first it might seem.

Now I look for that special connection
That one that will share more than a smile
Someone like me that will think first, last and most
Of me, no matter right beside me or across the mile.

To know that each day starts with thought of that one
Each night ends knowing the connection is shared
Letting no one else take the time that need be there
Never a question will there be that each cared.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

