Sleeping

I woke and looked at her sleeping
Just rested my head on my arm and stared
The thoughts of her smile warmed my heart
Thoughts of her leaving left me scared.

I feel the warmth of her embrace
The curve of her body in my arm
I try to tell her that I love her
And that I will always keep her from harm.

I know that she feels my emotion
That there is so much that I want from life
That if she let me in as I dream of
There would be a chance she could be my wife.

I reach for her face and move back the curl
I search for her eyes and her smile
Then with a start and a strained little gasp
I realize I had drifted to sleep for a while.

About graypoet

Just one that at times puts the words to the page and lets them fall as they might.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

